2015/2016 New Year wrap-up

SONY DSC

As 2016 is soon to be upon us, I’d like to just have a quick glance back at this years happenings.

All the way back in March I hinted this with a quick post, but I moved out of my parents house and into an apartment for the first time in my life.
I knew some friends and family my age and younger that already had moved out but it took me until this year to do so.

I actually did start looking at apartments back in summer 2014, not seriously at first, but just as last years christmas descended upon us, I had managed to secure a place of my own, which I would get access to early this year. It took a few things coming together successfully, much like a delicate puzzle under a time limit, and quite some help from my parents to make this happen.

It took me longer than anticipated to actually move in but that was pretty much because of me, the apartment itself was actually in good nick and had received a somewhat recent make-over. Not having moved anywhere in my life before, packing things down effectively went so-so and it was only then I realized the full extent of my hoarder personality which had thrived quite well thanks an actual salary.

Also I wanted to wait until the last moment to move my computer, as I didn’t want it sitting in a box more than necessary.
So then when some of the other stuff, like temporary furniture and such was in place, we moved my bed and computer in one sitting. And the moment the bed moved, was when I officially moved out. I also got a few wooden chairs (surprisingly comfortable) and a (not so stable) folding table from a pair that was just cleaning out another apartment. Free stuff!

I remember it quite well. I moved during the weekend so that I would have grown a bit accustomed to things and not spend my entire morning getting ready for work with looking through the wrong cupboards.
The feeling was actually that of staying in a hotel. It was an odd but not all unpleasant feeling.

After a week it did feel like home though. And it really does now.

So yeah, moving out was the really big thing in 2015.

And if words bore you, here are some photos for your amusement:
Imgur album link

I also hope you realize I moved most boxes and crap outta the way when taking pictures. It’s quite much more of a mess IRL 😀

Bonus f00d pr0n:

Another Imgur link

Also got me a temporary oldschool gaming setup going now:

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

It’ll probably be the way it is for way too long to be called “temporary” but it’s a start. Here in December I actually sat down and played through Snatcher on the PC Engine, which was nice. Otherwise I’ve spent most of my time gaming on PC thanks since I upgraded my PC a little bit and there were indeed some good games out this year. I spent a lot of time with Metal Gear Solid V when that came out, for example.

Audio-related Imgur link

I also dabbled more with speakers and hifi-stuff this year. During the late summer I attempted to switch from my Mission 752 tower speakers to something more modern. I first ran the standmount-route and after some comparison made the rash decision to get a pair of Dali Zensor 3s. I demoed the Wharfedale 10.2 and Boston Acoustics A26 before deciding, but looking back those two were probably more in line of my preferences. But I wanted something a bit different sounding and got carried away.

After not really getting along with the sound signature (personal opinion, speakers were quite impressive technically) I went the floorstanding route again and ended up with a pair of Audio Pro Avanto 5.0s. These have been rather good. Chesty if run in full-range or crossed low but as one might expect a bit much in my small living room. So I am once again thinking of maybe getting another pair of bookshelf speakers…we’ll just have to see what I end up doing in 2016.

I also ended up getting a new portable music player, the Sony NWZ-A17. This one (64gb ver) I had to get from Massdrop as the Sony was 1) quite expensive here in Sweden and 2) not available with the larger memory (bit priced almost as high).
It’s been really good. The back/option buttons are slightly mushy though but other than that works well. I’ve been using Sony DAPs since my Creative Zen Micro died and I got a Sony NWZ-A818 instead, which I wrote about long ago.

As for drawing, I’ve been hanging out on /r/animesketch way more than my DA account this year. Fun place, go have a look!

And now I really don’t have time to sit here and write away anymore!
Again, see you 2016! /o/

Tags: , ,

About Ji-L87

Laid back swede with an for affection games, sweet music and specific parts of Japanese pop culture.

Leave a comment