New MiniDisc additions

SONY DSC

My little MiniDisc family has grown with another two members. Joining the collection is two popular Sony recorders.

Presenting the MZ-R50 and the MZ-R900:

MD_loot_2013_09_18-03_R50-big MD_loot_2013_09_18-02-R900_big

The R900 was, at the time, the player of choice for a friend of mine and the R50, in orange, was one of the very first units that really caught my eye when going to the list in the minidisc.org link he provided.

The MZ-R900 is pretty nice – I like the way I can set the bass. The menu also works well and I prefer the design of this remote to the newer one that came with my MZ-N10. It sounds great, but I haven’t done any serious comparisons with my other units. It came with a battery, but it lacks the charger so I’m running it with the battery cradle attached.

The R50 was bought untested but turned out to be working fine. Also came with a bunch of extras like a dozens of minidiscs and a bag, which alone would be worth the (great) price I paid. My only regret is that it’s the silver version and not the orange one. Nothing wrong with silver, but all my MD portables just happen to be silver units and a bit of color would look great there. And the R50 just looks so stunning in orange. Oh well.

The build quality feels pretty amazing, by the way. People have said it’s built like tank and I can only nod in agreement. Sure, for a portable, it’s a bit heavy (and large) but it sure feels good to touch.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Speaking of robust MD recorders, sadly, the old MT832 I picked up in April last year just stopped reading the Table of Contents on discs the other day, giving an error message. Strange, as it felt just as sturdily built as the R50.

Luckily, the Sharp MD-DR77 I picked up from Yahoo Japan back in March is still working.
I’d say with this, my thirst for new MD units have been pretty much quenched. Although there are a couple of units out there I still want to play around with.

Oh, and as you can see I also picked up the classic KOSS PortaPro…cheap (well, sort of) and for the price well sounding.

Let’s end this post with just a bit more eye candy : )

MD_loot_2013_09_18-05 MD_loot_2013_09_18-06

Tags: , , ,

About Ji-L87

Laid back swede with an for affection games, sweet music and specific parts of Japanese pop culture.

Leave a Reply

