The “I bought a lot of stuff” Special (part 1)

I’ve been absent for a while, but now I’m back…perhaps…?
While I wasn’t posting here I bought a few things off the net and they have pretty much all showed up now so, I thought we could take a gander at what I got this time.
However, I took so many pictures from the artbooks & magazines, that it felt best to split up the post to avoid having 73 or so images trying to load at the same time 😛

LD & Game stuff

With this I’ve got Gunsmith Cats complete and I picked up the whole ARIEL OVA series as well. The latter is actually a pretty charming and interesting show based on a SF novel series with the same name. It’s not top tier material but quite enjoyable if you’re okay with the slightly sub-par animation (looks like a better TV series form the time). Sadly, episode 1 of Deluxe ARIEL seems to be affected by laser rot, there’s speckles and stuff in the image. No audio drop-outs when I watched it tho’. Maybe I can find another copy of it somewhere…

Gunsmith Cats on the other hand was a bit of a let-down. The action was pretty good (but a bit too sparse) and the sound was well done but character artwork went out the window by the 2nd episode. 1st one does actually look good, but 2 & 3 looks odd and sloppy. Which is too bad because the rest of the show holds quite a high standard.

Aside from the odd game & Saturn USB controller, pretty much every thing pictured was bought from the seller “Yamatoku Classic” on eBay. Prices were seemingly good and well below the usual gouging. Well, for most titles, but then again, the expensive items are the ones that people got into bidding wars over and, if it ends up expensive you can’t blame the seller because they all start out cheap.
This should hold me over for a while, I hope 🙂

Artbooks & magazines

Okay, here’s the reason why I wanted to split the post! There was some interesting stuff inside some of this stuff I maybe thought could be fun to see so I tried take…well, a few photos but went slightly overboard…
Picked up a few more Gall Force artbooks/mooks because I could, and they were sold as a set with a very fair price. I just like to collect things like this 😀 Also, I’m quite the sucker for Sonoda Kenichi’s old artworks. Like Satoshi Urushihara, I feel his newer often work fails to capture the dynamism of the older ones, and ends up feeling stiff and…I don’t know, I just like the older ones better. Not sure if other people feel the same about the evolution of their styles. :/ Hmm…

Also, someone was selling a pretty big number of issues of a magazine called “Animedia” and I just had to grab a few to sample 😛 Looking back, I sort of wish I would’ve bought a few more but that would’ve ended up too expensive for sure. Bummer, as these are interesting. I did take quite a few photos of what’s inside of those but curiously, I took even more photos of the two Newtype magazines I picked up because….well…Patlabor. 😀 Did not contain as much patlabor as you’d be led to believe from the cover but some cool stuff was inside.

I’ll dump the some of the interesting stuff Animedia here while everything from Newtype will be featured in part 2 😉

Some interesting stuff in there for sure! I love it when they throw in concept sketches and production artwork. Happy to see Zillion in there as well. I’m not overly familiar with Zillion as a show but I watched an OVA not too long ago and I know there are games on the Master System. Also just had to throw in that Gunbuster advert near the end – fancy the volume 1 LaserDisc? It’s yours for a measly 7,800yen which is about a 100 dollars were it today. Crazy!

Alright, stay tuned for part 2!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Ji-L87

Laid back swede with an for affection games, sweet music and specific parts of Japanese pop culture.

4 responses to “The “I bought a lot of stuff” Special (part 1)”

  1. william sanders says :

    any chance someone could get you to pdf those animedia gall force books?

    • Ji-L87 says :

      Sadly I lack the proper equipment. My scanner’s too small for that, I’m afraid.
      However, they’re not super expensive. I bought em from ebay seller Kimino-My-House.
      Just search the shop for Gall Force.

      They still seems to have a bunch of those Gall Force books, better yet, selling them in packs 🙂

  2. Michel Borges says :

    Hi! I really liked the Zillion artwork, one of my most loved anime series. In what magazine and edition number this are from?

    • Ji-L87 says :

      Agreed, Zillion is a really cool show. Working my way through it now actually.

      The images are from the June issue of Animedia (アニメディア) from 1987. It’s the one on the left in the photo, with Reina from Machine Robo on the cover.

      The Zillion content can be found, first, on pages 17-19 and then the settei drawings through pages 81-87 in the green insert booklet inside the magazine titled “Anime eye” (アニメアイ).

Leave a Reply

