Recent pickups 10/7 2012

Would you look at that, exactly one month since last time I featured some sweet, sweet loot.
Actually, I have been picking up a lot of stuff these last weeks, debit card or not. 😛

I believe I mentioned sometime earlier that I was looking into re-arranging my room again, and I’ve pretty much been trying to gather things I need for that. But I’ve ran into a bit of a “problem” with how I should arrange and connect things with the gaming systems, so I’ll have to think about that some more.
In the meantime, I’ve been focusing on the computer area. I was thinking of maybe moving the PS3 & XB360 there because it would mean easy access to an internet connection and less cables across the room.
That requires a decent sized screen and a way for both the PS3/360 & PC to make use of the same speaker system. Right now, I’m hunting stereo speakers.

But! I have no pictures of all this. Instead, I will update when things start to move along. However, I do have this:

I finally got a hold of a copy of Video Essentials on LD. This will hopefully be useful in testing the comb filter in the TV, scaler and DVD recorder. Also on LD is the movie Under Siege, which I hadn’t watched until now. There’s too many 80s/90s movies that I haven’t seen before and the reason I picked up this one was because I loved the title theme when I came across it on youtube. lol 😀

Also picked up one part of the soundtrack for the Patlabor TV-series, MGS: Peace Walker and also a new mouse to play around with. Haven’t tried the Scope Node yet, but I always thought it looked really cool.

Also I bought a whole bunch of game-related flyers:

These were all bought from the trading section on the System 11 Shmup community forums and are in really nice condition. There is still a whole lot of them left as I’m typing this.
…Yes, that Yuna-flyer, I know what you’re thinking. It folds out into a nice poster tho’, so it’s okay! 😛

And…I guess that’s all for now. Hopefully I’ll be able to find some nice, small speakers and fix a few other loose ends soon.

I’ll see you then.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Ji-L87

Laid back swede with an for affection games, sweet music and specific parts of Japanese pop culture.

4 responses to “Recent pickups 10/7 2012”

  1. Sean @ Retro Otaku says :

    I lol’d at picking out the Super Real Mahjong PV flyer – they featured that game in a local gaming magazine back when the Saturn came out, and being a teenager at the time I thought the concept of all that fanservice in a console game was craziness!

    • Ji-L87 says :

      I will admit to not having played a single Super Real Mahjong game, or any other similar for that matter. I’ve seen this flyer before, as a scan from the site the seller maintains (gamengai) and I have always liked the artwork in it. A lot.

      Especially the background is very well painted in a way that I’m fond of and I like the motive as well, so I just had to have it 😛

      Learning mahjong could be useful though, thinking of the borderline crazy number of games out there. It just seems rather hard to grasp – a friend showed me a couple of episodes from an anime called Akagi. Since the show deals with that, and other types of gambling, they try to explain it but I just didn’t get it. Ah well.

  2. Hollo @ http://www.supergaijinultragamer.org/ says :

    Those PCE flyers are great! Albeit in a slight Hentai kinda way. 😀 I really don’t see them often over here, so I am guessing they cost a fair bit?

    • Ji-L87 says :

      Hah, yeah, why do I always go for the pervy ones :S
      To be fair, most of those didn’t cost very much at all – just a few bucks per flyer. It was the total number (mostly because I decided to get all the Aero Dancing ones) & the shipping (EMS) that made it a wee bit on the expensive side. But it’s cool to have some more NEC stuff around.

Leave a Reply

