UppCon 2012


Phew.
Another UppCon comes and goes. Rumour has it this year’s was the last. If true, then it’s with mixed feelings I bid farewell to what was, if wikipedia is to be believed, the biggest nordic anime/manga-convention.
I have been attending UppCon with a couple friends since a few years back and during these years the con has switched locals what must be at least 3 times (though we missed the first move, I think). So it has grown considerably and in my eyes, become a bit too big for it’s own good in recent years. The price for entry tickets have skyrocketed, mostly thanks to increased costs of operation, but this (and maybe last year?) the 3-day pass also doubled as a ticket for the live performances on the main stage.

At the same time, it has been a pretty fun experience. Good things have been bought in the dealers area and since 2010 there were also an artist’s alley – something I’ve envied after hearing about conventions in the US. This was also the first year I could attend 2 days instead of only 1, which made the “big” day (Saturday) a slightly less hectic experience. This also allowed me to collect more swag, of course.
In the end, despite the increasing costs and crowd, good times have been had and I’m left to wonder what will replace it.

On to the l00t!

As has been proven in previous years, the con-run booth that specializes in selling what attendees bring with them is the most interesting place in the sellers area. Even I managed to get some stuff I didn’t need sold there.
It’s probably the most varied booth in terms on what’s on sale and it’s also possible to find some very good deals there. Also, games.

I picked up Ikuruga and a roughed up copy F-Zero GX for the Gamecube. Mega Man X: Maverick Hunter for PSP and lastly Paro Wars for the PS1.
That’s a good haul, I’d say! Speaking of which, I also found a loose PAL PS1 for a very low price. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with two of these but despite needing a little clean up, it works. It’s also an older revision than the one I already have, having both the serial and parallel ports on the backside, so that’s interesting I guess.

Speaking of games, I also found collectable figures based on Galaxy Fraulein Yuna, so naturally I had to buy one. The price was a bit above what I wanted to pay but the seller was really nice and offered me to find the figure I wanted.
After assembly, I have to say that Yuna’s build quality is a bit shoddy, at least compared to collectable figures from more contemporary series, but really, when was the last time you saw Galaxy Fraulein Yuna merchandise? Thought so.

In terms of more classical anime/manga-con loot I secured two DVDs, the 1st Cardcaptor Sakura movie and a Japanese release of Di Gi Charat Nyo! volume 1.
Along with this I picked up two manga books, a free compilation of manga-styled short stories by Swedish artists and volume 4 of Master Keaton, which I dug out of a cardboard box of cheaply priced, to me, mostly unknown Japanese manga. No, I don’t have the 3 preceding volumes 😛 But my curiosity go the better of me and it was cheap. Speaking of cheap random pickups, I found this magazine called “CUT”. I guess it’s normally a movie/cinema-kind of magazine. This one had a Studio Ghibli feature (mostly interviews) so I thought that maybe could be interesting to flip through.

Last up is two CDs I picked up. The Tackey & Tsubasa Best collection (say whatever you want, some tracks are pretty good) was offered for a really good price in the mentioned attendees booth while I picked up Mai Otome/Z-HiME Best Collection from a normal seller.
Sadly, that turned out to be a bootleg. Bummer. The label “Miya Records” caught my eye and after getting home and comparing it to a scan off the real thing, the cat was out of the bag. Upon further inspection, I found two other CDs I’ve had for a while with the same label. Quality seems pretty great tho’, so that’s a good thing I guess.

Returning to the topic of UppCon for a bit, there were loads of cosplayers if that’s your thing 😛
My camera didn’t really take that many good shots, especially not during the actual cosplay competition, but there’s always this site if you’re interested. I also believe some of the other performances and events will be uploaded to youtube.

I think this might be a fitting picture with to end this post and also say goodbye to UppCon.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Ji-L87

Laid back swede with an for affection games, sweet music and specific parts of Japanese pop culture.

3 responses to “UppCon 2012”

  1. skleb4753 says :

    Hi, I’m new, but I have a special request
    ( but it’s very important to me!)

    – I noticed you got yourself a copy of Birdy The Mighty volume 4 laser disc. Did it come with the insert and 2 post cards? I found a picture online of the insert, but its way too small. I was wondering if it would be possible to scan it or at least take a clear picture for me to see it.

    A weird request, I know, but It’s my absolute favorite anime, and I died when I found out my copy of the laser disc didn’t include the insert.

    It would mean the world to me.

    Thanks you!

    (Nice blog by the way.)

Leave a Reply

