The waiting game


I just ordered a bunch of stuff I thought I might need in order to connect things to the new scaler I bought. The clock just turned sunday, so those orders probably won’t start getting worked on until tomorrow at best. Thus begins *dun dun DUN* the Waiting Game.

The scaler I just got, a DVDO VP30 performs much, much better than that cheap thing I wrote about a while back. It’s also got the ATB102 deinterlacing card, and that’s a good idea if you’re planning on using it for games. Though, Game mode 1 looks a bit too sharpened, waxy in my opinion but it’s fast and works well.

I figured the best thing I could do now is to get better cords for the stuff that will go into the scaler. I’m reluctant about modifying my game systems, mostly because of cost (I mean, you have to find someone that can mod them, then pay for shipping and the actual mod work), so getting the best possible cable sounds like a better option.
The built-in comb filter in the VP30 isn’t all that great, so, stuff that uses composite (like my PCE and LD-player) could look better. But I’ve heard about people using DVD recorders as external comb filters for such purposes, so I will look into that.

Another problem I have right now is my setup, which is currently split into two sections. One for SD-gaming and one for HD. I’m planning to get rid of my CRT TV and merge these into one. I’m just no sure when I will do that – but until then, I will be unable to properly utilize the scaler, because while I can connect some stuff to it, I can’t play games because the controller cords don’t reach too well n_n;

So, right now I’m waiting. Waiting for stuff I need and for me to start moving things around.

…waiting sure is boring…

Tags:

About Ji-L87

Laid back swede with an for affection games, sweet music and specific parts of Japanese pop culture.

Leave a Reply

